MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#37
Cody Allen
ERA S K
2.95 17 52
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 6-1 / 210 NFBC ADP: 100.17
Position: RPBorn: 11/20/1988 Birthplace: Orlando, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 23rd Round by Indians (2011)


Latest News
July 22 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Cody Allen walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1 on Saturday. Allen struck out one, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
July 19 10:57 PM PT11:57 PM MT12:57 AM CT1:57 AM ET1:57 ET5:57 GMT13:57 10:57 PM MST12:57 AM EST1:27 AM VEN9:57 UAE12:57 AM CT-Cody Allen fell to 0-5, allowing one run on four hits in 0.2 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the San Francisco Giants 2-1 on Tuesday. Allen struck out one, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 18 8:36 AM PT9:36 AM MT10:36 AM CT11:36 AM ET11:36 ET15:36 GMT23:36 8:36 AM MST10:36 AM EST11:06 AM VEN19:36 UAE10:36 AM CT-Cody Allen recorded his 17th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-3 on Monday. Allen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.97 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The save was just Allen's second since June 12. Though it appears he's still Terry Francona's preferred option to close out games, the right-hander's fantasy potential may still be capped by Andrew Miller also being a threat for saves.
July 16 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Cody Allen allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Oakland Athletics 7-3 on Sunday. Allen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 8 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Cody Allen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Detroit Tigers 4-0 on Saturday. Allen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.62 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 4 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Cody Allen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Cleveland Indians lost to the San Diego Padres 1-0 on Tuesday. Allen struck out three, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
July 2 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Cody Allen allowed no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Detroit Tigers 11-8 on Sunday. Allen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Allen got the last out to notch his 16th save after the Tigers scored six ninth-inning runs.
July 1 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Cody Allen walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Detroit Tigers 4-1 on Saturday. Allen struck out two, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Cody Allen allowed two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Texas Rangers 5-3 on Wednesday. Allen struck out two, ending the game with a 2.90 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 28 8:36 AM PT9:36 AM MT10:36 AM CT11:36 AM ET11:36 ET15:36 GMT23:36 8:36 AM MST10:36 AM EST11:06 AM VEN19:36 UAE10:36 AM CT-Cody Allen fell to 0-4, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Texas Rangers 2-1 on Tuesday. Allen struck out two, ending the game with a 2.40 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 26 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Cody Allen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Texas Rangers 15-9 on Monday. Allen struck out three, ending the game with a 2.17 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 24 6:06 PM PT7:06 PM MT8:06 PM CT9:06 PM ET21:06 ET1:06 GMT9:06 6:06 PM MST8:06 PM EST8:36 PM VEN5:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-Cody Allen allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-2 on Saturday. Allen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Allen (0-3) was making his first appearance since Sunday. The right-hander was on the paternity list earlier this week when his wife gave birth to the couple's first child.
June 23 7:43 AM PT8:43 AM MT9:43 AM CT10:43 AM ET10:43 ET14:43 GMT22:43 7:43 AM MST9:43 AM EST10:13 AM VEN18:43 UAE9:43 AM CT-Allen has been reinstated from the paternity list and will be available for the Indians' series opener with Minnesota on Friday.
Analysis: Allen had been away from the team for a few days as his wife gave birth. The right-hander's fantasy value has taken a hit over the past few weeks with him no longer operating as the Indians' primary closer.
June 18 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Cody Allen walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Minnesota Twins 5-2 on Sunday. Allen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 18 9:17 AM PT10:17 AM MT11:17 AM CT12:17 PM ET12:17 ET16:17 GMT0:17 9:17 AM MST11:17 AM EST11:47 AM VEN20:17 UAE11:17 AM CT-Cody Allen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-2 on Saturday. Allen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
June 11 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Cody Allen recorded his 15th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-2 on Sunday. Allen struck out two, ending the game with a 2.19 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 9 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Cody Allen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-3 on Friday. Allen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.28 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 7 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Cody Allen allowed two runs - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Colorado Rockies 8-1 on Wednesday. Allen struck out one, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
June 4 5:20 PM PT6:20 PM MT7:20 PM CT8:20 PM ET20:20 ET0:20 GMT8:20 5:20 PM MST7:20 PM EST7:50 PM VEN4:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-Cody Allen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-0 on Sunday. Allen struck out two, ending the game with a 2.49 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 29 4:46 PM PT5:46 PM MT6:46 PM CT7:46 PM ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 4:46 PM MST6:46 PM EST7:16 PM VEN3:46 UAE (+1)6:46 PM CT-Cody Allen recorded his 14th save, allowing one run on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Oakland Athletics 5-3 on Monday. Allen struck out two, ending the game with a 2.61 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Allen has 106 career saves and moved past Jose Mesa (104) into fourth place on the Cleveland franchise list. He has a 5.87 ERA in his last eight appearances after compiling a 0.69 mark in his first 13.
May 24 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)10:38 PM CT-Cody Allen fell to 0-2, allowing two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Wednesday. Allen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.29 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Allen allowed a two-out, two-run single to Zach Cozart in the ninth to blow his first save since Aug. 17. He had recorded 22 consecutive saves. It was the first time he allowed more than one run in an outing all season.
May 23 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Cody Allen recorded his 13th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Cincinnati Reds 8-7 on Tuesday. Allen struck out two, ending the game with a 1.45 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Allen escaped a threat in the ninth and extended his franchise record by converting his 13th consecutive save opportunity to start a season.
May 20 4:33 PM PT5:33 PM MT6:33 PM CT7:33 PM ET19:33 ET23:33 GMT7:33 4:33 PM MST6:33 PM EST7:03 PM VEN3:33 UAE (+1)6:33 PM CT-Cody Allen recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Houston Astros 3-0 on Saturday. Allen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.53 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Allen has converted all 12 of his save opportunities this season, and 21 straight dating to Aug. 18.
May 19 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Cody Allen recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Houston Astros 5-3 on Friday. Allen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.62 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Cody Allen recorded his 10th save, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 8-7 on Monday. Allen struck out two, ending the game with a 1.72 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He allowed his first homer of the season with two outs in the ninth.
May 14 2:25 PM PT3:25 PM MT4:25 PM CT5:25 PM ET17:25 ET21:25 GMT5:25 2:25 PM MST4:25 PM EST4:55 PM VEN1:25 UAE (+1)4:25 PM CT-Cody Allen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Minnesota Twins 8-3 on Sunday. Allen struck out one, ending the game with a 1.23 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
May 10 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Cody Allen fell to 0-1, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 0.2 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-7 on Wednesday. Allen struck out one, ending the game with a 1.32 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 7 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)6:21 PM CT-Cody Allen recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Kansas City Royals 1-0 on Sunday. Allen struck out one, ending the game with a 0.69 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Since allowing his only run of the season on April 4, Allen has worked 11 scoreless innings with eights, five walks and 18 strikeouts. He's 7 for 7 in save opportunities.
May 6 5:43 PM PT6:43 PM MT7:43 PM CT8:43 PM ET20:43 ET0:43 GMT8:43 5:43 PM MST7:43 PM EST8:13 PM VEN4:43 UAE (+1)7:43 PM CT-Cody Allen recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Kansas City Royals 3-1 on Saturday. Allen struck out one, ending the game with a 0.75 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Allen remained perfect in save opportunities, but he had to work around a walk and a single. He's pitched 10 scoreless innings and struck out 17 over his last 10 appearances.
May 4 9:47 PM PT10:47 PM MT11:47 PM CT12:47 AM ET0:47 ET4:47 GMT12:47 9:47 PM MST11:47 PM EST12:17 AM VEN8:47 UAE11:47 PM CT-Cody Allen recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-2 on Wednesday. Allen struck out two, ending the game with a 0.82 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-Cody Allen recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Saturday. Allen struck out two, ending the game with a 0.90 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Cody Allen recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on three hits in 1.0 inning, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Houston Astros 4-3 on Thursday. Allen struck out one, ending the game with a 1.00 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Allen has worked seven scoreless innings with 12 strikeouts since allowing his only run of the season to Texas on April 4. Allen's four-out save in Wednesday's game was his 17th in which he recorded four or more outs. His ERA in those games is 0.77.
Apr. 26 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Allen recorded the final four outs for his fourth save Wednesday against Houston.
Analysis: He's allowed one run and struck out 17 with one walk in eight innings this season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Cle 0 1 0 - 1 27 0 0 29.0 29 12 12 2 15 0 27 1.52 3.72
2013 Cle 6 1 2 - 4 77 0 0 70.1 62 22 19 7 26 2 88 1.25 2.43
2014 Cle 6 4 24 - 28 76 0 0 69.2 48 21 16 7 26 5 91 1.06 2.07
2015 Cle 2 5 34 - 38 70 0 0 69.1 56 26 23 2 25 2 99 1.17 2.99
2016 Cle 3 5 32 - 35 67 0 0 68.0 41 23 19 8 27 2 87 1.00 2.51
2017 Cle 0 5 17 - 18 40 0 0 39.2 38 15 13 5 15 0 52 1.34 2.95
Career 17 21 109 - 124 357 0 0 346.0 274 119 102 31 134 11 444 1.18 2.65


Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Cle Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2016 Cle Total 0 0 6 - 6 10 0 0 13.2 8 0 0 0 5 1 24 0.00
    LDS 0 0 2 - 2 2 0 0 3.0 4 0 0 0 2 0 5 0.00
    LCS 0 0 3 - 3 4 0 0 4.2 1 0 0 0 1 0 7 0.00
    WS 0 0 1 - 1 4 0 0 6.0 3 0 0 0 2 1 12 0.00
Career 0 0 6 - 6 11 0 0 14.0 9 1 0 0 5 1 25 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 395 97 91 94.3 55.4
Curveball 318 86 81 84 44.6

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.


Home | Weather | Local | Nation Now | Traffic | Sports | Features | About | Video | Yourtake | Submit Photos & Video | Contact Us

All rights reserved. Users of this site agree to the Terms of Service, Privacy Notice/Your California Privacy Rights, and Ad Choices